Scopul vieții

God has created me to do Him some definite service. He has committed some work to me which He has not committed to another. I have my mission… I am a link in a chain, a bond of connection between persons. He has not created me for naught.
I shall do good, I shall do His work; I shall be an angel of peace, a preacher of truth in my own place… Therefore I will trust Him. Whatever, wherever I am, I can never be thrown away. If I am in sickness, my sickness may serve Him; in perplexity, my perplexity may serve Him; if I am in sorrow, my sorrow may serve Him.
He does nothing in vain; He knows what He is about. He may take away my friends, He may throw me among strangers, He may make me feel desolate, make my spirits sink, hide the future from me – still He knows what He is about.

Dumnezeu m-a creat să împlinesc o slujire anume. Mi-a încredinţat să fac ceva ce nu a mai dat nimănui. Am o misiune… Sunt o verigă într-un lanţ, o punte de legătură între persoane. Nu m-a creat pentru nimic.
Voi face lucrarea Sa; voi fi un înger de pace, un martor al adevărului acolo unde sunt… De aceea voi avea încredere în El. Orice sunt, nu pot fi aruncat afară. Dacă sunt bolnav, boala mea s-ar putea să-I slujească Lui; îndoielile mele s-ar putea să-I slujească Lui. Dacă sunt în suferinţă, durerea mea s-ar putea să-I slujească Lui.
El nu face nimic în zadar. El ştie ce face. S-ar putea să-mi ia prietenii, s-ar putea să mă arunce printre străini, s-ar putea să mă facă să mă simt singur, să-mi scadă curajul, să-mi ascundă viitorul de mine. Totuşi, El ştie ce face.

(John Henry Newman)

Leave a Reply

